1971 Chevelle SS

1971 Chevelle SS

 

 

 

 

1 Thessalonians 5:17 Pray without ceasing…..19 Do not quench the Spirit (quench-to put out or extinguish).

For most of my life, I have driven with God somewhere in the backseat of the car of life.  And by the way, ‘the car of life’ is a 1971 Chevelle SS.  Sometimes I would kick him out, but he would hold on underneath like “Indiana Jones.”  I was at my best when he was riding “shotgun,”  which was rare.  For the last 2 years I have been practicing letting God drive and not because I heard Carrie Underwood’s song “Jesus take the Wheel.”  I have always liked songs about driving, though.  Whether it is Alan Jackson’s “Drive,”  Bruce Springsteen’s “My Hometown” or Pearl Jam’s “Rear view Mirror.”  In Robert Frost’s days it was about a path, because cars were still new.  To my generation, “Life is a Highway.”   Boy, could I get anymore Cliché.  I am just thankful now that God is riding shotgun and we are taking shifts at the wheel.   Hopefully, one of the days I will let him drive all the time.  God cruise control!

 I used to pray at scheduled times (ie. dinner, bed, chapel, church).  Lately, I have been talking to God all day.    Society says that you are crazy if you talk to someone that is not present in the physical sense or if you have voices in your head.  Then I guess I am crazy.  I think it is the most sane way to live, if you are a believer.  In college I would hear Atheist professors of sociology refer to what I knew was the Holy Spirit as “a conscience.”  I cannot go through life living the way God wants me to live unless I pray constantly and listen to the Holy Conscience.

