Jewish Star of David

Jewish Star of David

We attended the bar mitzvah of Jake McCoy, son of Greg and Amy McCoy today.  This was my second experience of attending the Jewish celebration of manhood while this was Karen’s first time in a Temple.  I am so impressed with all of the work that a young man has to put into their bar mitzvah.  Whether, it is the learning of Hebrew or the “matz balls” to get up in front of a crowd and speak at 13 years of age.  As a Christian, I wonder if there is more that should be put into our baptism of young adults and in some cases children.  I know that when I was baptised, it involved one conversation with my youth pastor.  As for Blake, all he did was say he wanted to be baptised, wrote a letter and had a conversation with his youth pastor.  Does this breed a lazy approach to our faith?  What say you?

