Pleased to meet you, hope you guess my name...

Pleased to meet you, hope you guess my name...

I need to sharpen my knives for hunting season, but after tonight’s message, I need to dull my tongue.  To often in my life I have used the excuse of “honesty” to say or write bad things to people, and I am not talking about constructive criticism, I’m talking about some pretty hurtful things.  I am learning as I grow spiritual that honesty is no excuse.  The 9th step in AA says to “make amends to people whenever possible unless it could cause hurt to that person or others.”  In Ephesians 4 it talks about speaking like this: “…but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs.”  I guess the old saying ” if you can’t say anything nice, than don’t say anything at all” is more spiritual than I thought.

