I attended a wedding this weekend at a Bahai community center http://www.bahai.org  It’s an interesting faith, where they believe in everything.  And I mean EVERYTHING!  I was wondering where the COEXIST bumper stickers I see all over town came from.  They did read a scripture from the Bible, though: “Love is kind….(from 1st Corinthians).  They also read from the Bahai writings and did some interesting chants.  I am so glad that they did not read from the Koran, I may have had to leave.  I am aware that Jews and Christians have killed in the past, but presently compared to the total number of Christians in the world, “the killers” are not even a fraction.  Unfortunately, I don’t think you can say the same for the Muslim faith.  It may not be the majority that believe in Jihad, but I believe it’s more than 10%.  What say you?

Infidel

Infidel

They don’t even call it a church.   I bet they don’t refer to it as church because they are getting a crowd that has been hurt by the church.   How can the present church reach those that have been hurt by a church, with the title “church” in our names without scaring them?   I believe there is one difficult answer: As we are “fishers of men,” we have to ‘lure’ them into the church using moral, ethical and Godly marketing practices and then once they get in there, show them or even better, shower them with God’s love.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think we need Coca-cola as a sponsor, but planting the seed can incorporate many things these days that some find very controversial.  These people are often the same ones that don’t go further than telling the congregation to invite someone next weekend once a month.  I am sorry, BUT THAT IS NOT ENOUGH IN 2008.

